Player Core Chapter 6: Equipment

Items and Sizes

The Bulk rules in this chapter are for Small, Medium, and Large creatures, as most ancestries are these sizes; however, other uncommon or rare ancestries might be larger or smaller and require items specially made for creatures of those sizes. Large creatures can carry more, and smaller creatures can carry less, as noted on the Bulk Conversions table.

These rules for Bulk limits come up most often when a group tries to load up a mount or vehicle. The rules for items of different sizes tend to come into play when the characters defeat a big creature that has gear, since usually the only creatures of other sizes are creatures under the GM's control.

In most cases, Small or Medium creatures can wield a Large weapon, though it's unwieldy, giving them the clumsy 1 condition, and the larger size is canceled by the difficulty of swinging the weapon, so it grants no special benefit. Large armor is simply too large for Small and Medium creatures.

Bulk Conversions for Different Sizes

As shown in the Bulk Conversions table, Large or larger creatures are less encumbered by bulky items than Small or Medium creatures, while Tiny creatures become overburdened more quickly. A Large creature treats 10 items of 1 Bulk as 1 Bulk, a Huge creature treats 10 items of 2 Bulk as 1 Bulk, and so on. A Tiny creature treats 10 items of negligible Bulk as 1 Bulk. Negligible items work in a similar way—a Huge creature treats items of 1 Bulk as negligible, so it can carry any number of items of 1 Bulk. A Tiny creature doesn’t treat any items as having negligible Bulk.
Bulk Conversions
Creature SizeBulk LimitTreats as LightTreats as Negligible
TinyHalfnone
Small or Med.StandardL
Large×21 BulkL
Huge×42 Bulk1 Bulk
Gargantuan×84 Bulk2 Bulk

Items of Different Sizes

Creatures of sizes other than Small, Medium, or Large need items appropriate to their size. These items have different Bulk and possibly a different Price. The Differently Sized Items table provides the Price and Bulk conversion for such items.
For example, a doshko sized for a Medium creature has a Price of 20 credits and 1 Bulk, so one made for a Huge creature is 80 credits and 4 Bulk. One made for a Tiny creature still costs 20 credits (due to its intricacy) and has 1/2 Bulk (rounding down to light Bulk). Because the way that a creature treats Bulk and the Bulk of gear sized for it scale the same way, Tiny or Large (or larger) creatures can usually wear and carry about the same amount of gear as a Medium creature.

Higher-level magic and tech items that cost significantly more than 8 times the cost of a mundane item use their listed Price regardless of size. Precious materials, however, have a Price based on the Bulk of the item, so multiply the Bulk value as described on the Differently Sized Items table, then use the formula in the material's entry to determine the item's Price.
Differently Sized Items
Creature SizePriceBulkLight BecomesNegligible Becomes
TinyStandardHalf*
Small or Med.StandardStandardL
LargeStandard×21 BulkL
Huge×4×42 Bulk1 Bulk
Gargantuan×8×84 Bulk2 Bulk
* An item that would have its Bulk reduced below 1 has light Bulk.

Wielding Items

Some abilities require you to wield an item, typically a weapon. You’re wielding an item any time you’re holding it in the number of hands needed to use it effectively. When wielding an item, you’re not just carrying it around—you’re ready to use it. Other abilities might require you to be wearing the item, holding it, or simply to have it.
Changing Equipment
ChangeHandsAction
Draw or put away a worn item, swap one item for another, or pick up an item11 or 2Interact
Pass an item to or take an item from a willing creature21 or 2Interact
Drop an item to the ground1 or 2Release
Detach a shield or item strapped to you1Interact
Change your grip by removing a hand from an item2Release
Change your grip by adding a hand to an item2Interact
Retrieve an item from a backpack3, sack, or similar container2Interact
1 If you retrieve a two-handed item with only one hand, you still need to change your grip before you can wield or use it.
2 A creature must have a hand free for someone to pass an item to them, and they might then need to change their grip if they receive an item requiring two hands to wield or use.
3 Retrieving an item stowed in your own backpack requires first taking off the backpack with a separate Interact action.